Differences between the double
and single bevel

There are 2 main categories of a Japanese knife, double bevel (Ryoba)
and single bevel (kataba). Single bevel is used for specialist Japanese knivs in the left or
right-hand grind. Generally, western-style knives are double bevel, suitable for a
wider range of tasks

Double Bevel (Ryoba)

Double bevel knives have a hard core steel (Hagane) which is positioned between
softer steel (Jigane). The edge of the knife is centred so it makes the blade thicker
and less sharp than single bevel profiles.

Single Bevel (Kataba)

Single bevel knives have a thinner
and sharper edge. The thinner edge is, however, easier to chip
and/or become blunt if it strikes something hard like bone.
Single bevel knives may require more sharpening than their double bevel counterpart.


Sharpening Stone (Whetstone)

Whetstones are recommended for the sharpening of all Japanese knives, they are
also exceptional at sharpening western knives.
There are 3 different types of whetstone based on the size of the grit. These are
Rough Stone (Arato), Middle Stone (Nakato)
and Finishing Stone (Shiageto). Some skill a nd experience are required to use a whetstone appropriately.